Scene 1:  “Isaiah’s prophecy of salvation”

  1. Sinfonia/Overture
  2. Accompagnato, tenor: Comfort ye my people
  3. Air, tenor: Ev’ry valley shall be exalted
  4. Chorus: And the glory of the Lord

Scene 2:  “The coming judgement”

  1. Accompagnato, bass: Thus saith the Lord of hosts
  2. Air, alto: But who may abide the day of His coming
  3. Chorus: And He shall purify

Scene 3:  “The Prophecy of the Virgin Birth”

  1. Recitative, alto: Behold, a virgin shall conceive
  2. Air and Chorus, alto: O thou that tellest good tidings to Zion
  3. Accompagnato, bass: For behold, darkness shall cover the earth
  4. Air, bass: The people that walked in darkness
  5. Chorus: For unto us a Child is born

Scene 4:  “The appearance of Angels to the Shepherds”

  1. Pifa (“Pastoral Symphony”)
  2. (a) Recitative, soprano: There were shepherds abiding in the field
  3. (b) Recitative, soprano: And lo, the angel of the Lord
    15. Recitative, soprano:  And the angel said unto them
  4. Accompagnato, soprano: And suddenly there was with the angel
  5. Chorus: Glory to God in the highest

Scene 5:  “Christ’s redemptive miracles on earth”

  1. Air, soprano: Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion
  2. Recitative, alto: Then shall the eyes of the blind be open’d
  3. Duet, alto & soprano: He shall feed his flock like a shepherd
  4. Chorus: His yoke is easy


Scene 6:  “The world and its rulers reject the gospel

  1. Recitative, tenor: He that dwelleth in heaven

Scene 7:  “God’s triumph”

43:  Air, tenor:  Thou shalt break them
44.  Chorus:  Hallelujah!


Scene 1: “The promise of bodily resurrection and redemption from Adam’s fall”

  1. Air, soprano: I know that my Redeemer liveth

Scene 2:  “The Day of Judgement and general Resurrection”

  1. Accompagnato, bass: Behold, I tell you a mystery
  2. Air, bass:  The trumpet shall sound

Scene 4: “The glorification of the Messianic victim”

  1. Chorus: Worthy is the Lamb