Kent Hatteberg + UofL Cardinal Singers

Kent Hatteberg is Director of Choral Activities at the University of Louisville and Artistic Director of the Louisville Chamber Choir. He received the Bachelor of Music degree in piano and voice summa cum laude from the University of Dubuque and the master’s and doctorate in choral conducting from The University of Iowa, where he studied conducting with Don V Moses. Named a Fulbright Scholar in 1990, Dr. Hatteberg studied conducting in Berlin with Uwe Gronostay, conductor of the Berlin Philharmonic Choir, and pursued research on the early works of Felix Mendelssohn. He conducted the world premiere of Mendelssohn’s Gloria in Louisville in 1997.

Dr. Hatteberg is active nationally and internationally as a guest-conductor, clinician, and adjudicator, most recently in China, Hungary, Austria, Korea, Spain, and the U.S. He made his international professional conducting debut in 1993 as a guest-conductor with the Nederlands Kamerkoor. He is co-director of the Kentucky Ambassadors of Music, a program that affords students from across the state of Kentucky the opportunity to perform and tour in Europe.

Dr. Hatteberg was named a University of Louisville Faculty Scholar in 2002, KMEA College/University Teacher of the Year in 2004, and was selected for the International Who’s Who in Choral Music in 2007. He received the 2008 KCDA Robert A. Baar Award for choral excellence, the University of Dubuque Career Achievement Award in 2008, and the University of Louisville Distinguished Faculty Award for Outstanding Scholarship, Research, and Creative Activity in the Performing Arts in 2010 and 2015.

University of Louisville Cardinal Singers

 The University of Louisville Cardinal Singers were founded in 1970 as an outreach organization for the University of Louisville, and they continue their outreach mission locally, nationally, and internationally, offering workshops, performing at choral conventions, and competing/performing on the international stage. They have performed in numerous international competitions, festivals, and symposiums, including the 13th China International Chorus Festival (2016), the Taipei International Choral Festival (2015 and 2010), the Singapore International Choral Festival (2015), the Cuba/United States Choral Symposium in Havana (2012), the Beijing International Choral Festival (2010), and the 7th World Symposium on Choral Music in Kyoto, Japan (2005). They have also competed or performed in Korea (2015, 2013, 2010, 2009), Vietnam (2013), Germany (2011, 2005, 2004, 2003), Sweden, Estonia, Lithuania, and Latvia (2007), and Spain (2006). They have performed at numerous conventions of the National Collegiate Choral Organization (NCCO) and the American Choral Directors Association (ACDA), and will perform at the National ACDA Convention in Minneapolis in March 2017.



Soprano I
Maria Franxman
Emily Furnish*
Susanna Gibbons*
Erin Shina
Shannon Winter

Soprano II
Rachel Barber
Megan Easton
Isabella Henley-Brunton
Kelsey Lyvers
Elizabeth Smith

Alto I
Amanda Brow
Callie Cowart
Jill Felkins
Lauren Montgomery
Rowan Schaefer

Alto II
Macy Ellis
Paige Harpring
Amelia Hurt
Hyunjin Kwak*
Jasmine Mattei

Tenor I
Jeffrey Moore
Andrés Salazar
Sam Soto
Justin Walker*
Connor Wilkerson

Tenor II
Kristofer Anderson
Seon Hwan Chu
Dylon Crain
Cory Spalding
Blake Wilson

Chris Deaton
Alex Kapp
Ethan James McCollum*
Matt Pennington
Liam Resener

Bass II
Phill Hatton
Sam Ifeacho
Kyle King
Dongkyu Lee*
Nathaniel Mo
Matt Wetmore*

*graduate student